Corner Bistro

I finally tried popular West Village spot Corner Bistro recently, after reading rave reviews in New York magazine. I wasn’t disappointed. The burgers are among the best (and cheapest) in the city, even if they overcook the bacon for my taste. But where else in Manhattan can you find draft beer for $2.50? They play a nice mix of late-’50s R’n’B and Be-Bop with the occasional Stones track thrown in, and there are three TV screens showing three different sporting events, all of which keeps you entertained enough as you join a lengthy queue for a table. Last night I went back with my girlfriend and we sat at the bar, where such aforementioned pleasures combined to the point where I almost achieved a blissful sensory overload. Burger heaven.

David Lynch-inspired graffiti at Corner Bistro in the West Village.

Leave a comment